Hike, Sing, Dance

I miss hiking. I miss the mud caked onto my legs. I miss feeling like I can’t take one more step but somehow I keep moving closer to the summit. I miss the fresh air and the green mountain forest all around me. I miss the danger of hiking a narrow ridge line. I miss the ropes to pull myself up a steep incline. I miss the view from the top. I miss the pounding in my chest like my heart is about to explode. I miss the sweat drenched t shirt tied around my head. I miss running down the trail at twice the speed it took me to climb up it. I miss the roots and the rocks and the reggae.

This video is from many years ago when I climbed Lanipo, a 7.5 mile round trip hike along a ridge known as Mauna Lani Heights just above Kaimuki in Honolulu. The Ko’olau mountain range on Oahu has an amazing network of hiking trails. And there was a time (before I had kids) when I used to hike two or three different trails every week. A day spent hiking was the perfect mini-vacation and the best way to get far away from the busy rush of the city. It didn’t matter which direction we were going… East, West, North or South, as long as we were going UP!

Categories: Travellin' | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

