Anywhere In The World

If I could go anywhere in the world, I would go to Havanna, Cuba.

“Why Cuba?” You might ask.

“Because I’m not supposed to,” I would answer.

The thought of visiting somewhere that is off-limits to me is just too much to resist. The US government has a travel ban against it’s citizens visiting the country. That right there makes me want to go to Cuba all the more. Tell me I can’t do something and I’m going to do it. It’s the American way. I think it is stupid that Americans aren’t allowed to visit Cuba. I’m not planning on collaborating with the Castro regime. I just want to walk through the city, eat the food, swim in the ocean and experience a land that most people will probably never see in their lifetime.

But how do I get to Cuba? From what I hear it is easy to travel to Cuba through Mexico. Nobody in Mexico or Cuba will try and stop you from coming or going. Then there is always the problem of that pesky little stamp on your passport that says Cuba. Could I later end up in HOT or maybe lukewarm water with American customs if they ever saw a Cuba stamp on my passport? One avid traveler told me that when you come back to Mexico from Cuba, slip a twenty dollar bill in your passport and simply say “No Stamp Por Favor.” It sounds like a good idea but I’d rather get scolded by US customs than end up in a Mexican jail for trying to bribe an officer.

So if you could go any where in the world… Where would you go? And why?

Categories: Travellin' | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Anywhere In The World

  1. Wise choice. I, of all people, am completely not at all allowed to go there as well. Zip! No way around it.

    I would choose Ireland. I want to take a tour and get to know the Tudors era.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

